Distinguished Invitees and the Executive Committee 25th AGM
President Chandima Samarasinghe being greeted by outgoing President Boshan Dayaratne
President Chandima Samarasinghe addressing the 25th AGM
A Smart Lockdown, the need of the hour?
Audience at budget forum
Members in parade at university grounds
Strategies for a Lankan Economic Recovery

 Sarmaa Mahalingam elected as the 20th President of the MBA Alumni Association

Mr. Sarmaa Mahalingam was unanimously elected as the President  of the MBA Alumni Association of the University of Colombo for the year 2016/17 at the 19th AGM held on 29th June 2016 at the Grand Ballroom of Galadari Hotel, Colombo.

The Governor of the Central Bank of Sri Lanka Mr. Arjuna Mahendran graced this occasion as the Chief Guest, while the other distinguished invitees were Deputy Chairman of the University Grants Commission - Professor P.S.M. Gunaratne, Vice Chancellor of the University of Colombo - Professor Lakshman Dissanayake, Dean of the Faculty of Management and Finance - Dr. R. Senathiraja and Unit Coordinator of the MBA programme - Dr. Pavithra Kailasapathy. The event also witnessed the presence of many Alumni members holding senior and responsible positions in both public and private sector organizations.

 During his speech Mr. Mahendran urge for greater private sector role and involvement in infrastructure financing and development, while indicating the higher taxation would be unavoidable due to massive burden of past debts. He also highlighted that tourism, ICT and rebound in FDI’s are silver linings, and concluded saying that his term in office as the Governor of CBSL has been an “interesting” period.

Addressing the gathering, the Vice Chancellor of the University of Colombo Professor Lakshman Dissanayake emphasized that National Universities should work closely with the private sector organizations and should develop mutually beneficial partnerships with the industry and requested the MBA Alumni Association to play a leading role in facilitating such efforts.

Assuming duties in office the new president, Mr. Mahalingam said; “Every year is a new challenge, but it is our inherent duty to give back to our society what we have gained from this great Institution”. While welcoming the new committee for 2016/17, he introduced the theme for his tenure as "STRIVE TO SHINE; SHINE AS PROFESSIONALS FOR THE WORLD TO SEE” and the pledged that he together with his team would take the Association to greater heights.

The other office bearers elected at the AGM for 2016/17 were Mr. Irshan Jayah - Deputy President, Mr. Thusitha de Silva – Vice President, Ms. Manohari Abeysekera – Secretary, Mr. Chathura Siyambalapitiya - Treasurer, Mr. Ranga Ratnayake – Assistant Secretary, Mr. Prabath Kaushalya - Assistant Treasurer and Mr. Lalith Sumanasiri – Immediate Past President. The other elected executive committee members were Mr. Upali Ratnayake, Mr. K. T. Supeshala, Mr. Chandima Samarasinghe, Ms. Dhilmini Palipane, Mr. Mahesh Jayasinghe, Mr. Lasintha Ferdinando, Mr. Kulendran Sivaram, Ms. Eshani Thenuwara, Ms. Heshani Alutwatte, Mr. Vidushan Premathiratne, Mr. Thusitha Perera, Mr. Priyanthe Herath and Ms. Kumudini Hewawitharane. In addition 9 Past Presidents were also elected to the committee with Mr. Neil De Mel, Mr. Prasad Jayasuriya and Mr. Hilary Fernando functioning as Trustees while others were Mr. K. U.Pushpakumara, Mr. Chris Corea. Mr. Jude Fernando. Ms. Pubudu De Zoysa, Mr. Saranga Wijeyarathne and Mr. Rohana Ellawala.

 The University of Colombo provides the most prestigious Masters degree in Business Administration (MBA) in Sri Lanka since 1980's and the MBA Alumni Association was originally set up in the year 1997 by a group of MBA graduates from the University of Colombo who wished to further the interests of MBA graduates and also to make a contribution to their alma mater and to the country with a vision "To be the first choice in business governance". Since then, the Association has grown in stature with members working in diverse disciplines - corporate governance, general management, finance, marketing, IT, HR and administration in both private and public sector across Sri Lanka and overseas and today it is considered as one of the most active alumni associations in the country.

Thusitha de Silva


Download Annual Report 2015-16